"Radical Members of the South Carolina Legislature"

"These are photographs of 63 members of the reconstructed South Carolina Legislature, 50 of whom are negroes or mulattoes and 13 white. 22 read and write (8 grammatically), the remainder (41) make their mark with the aid of amanuensis. Nineteen are taxpayers to an aggregate amount of $146.10. The rest (44) pay no taxes, and the body levies on the white people of the State for $4.000.000." Here are the members from left to right: Line 1 - Dusenberry, McKinlay, Dickson, Wilder, Hoyt, Randolph, Harris. Line 2 - Mayes, Jillson, Lomax, Jackson, Thomas, Webb, Bozeman, Tomlinson, Wright. Line 3 - Demars, Brodie, Hayes, Cain, Maxwell, Martin, Whipper, Miller. Line 4 - Rivers, Ducan, BOOZER, Smythe, Wright, MOSES, Sancho, Sanders, Nuckels. Line 5 - Millford, White, Barton, Boston, Shrewsbury, Mickey, Henderson, Howell, Hayne, Mobley, Hudson, Nash, Carmand. Line 6 - Smith, Pettengill, Hyde, Lee, Simonds, Chesnut, McDaniel, Williams, Gardner. Line 7 - Swails, Perrin, James, Johnston, Wimbush, Hayes, Farr, Meade, Thompson, and Rainey.

Original Format:
Carte de Visite
J. G. Gibbes
download hi-res watermarked image
Related Categories:

All Licensed images are available for download as jpeg files at 300 dpi of original size.

If your project requires an image at higher resolution, please contact us (be sure to include item number). Custom requests may require an additional charge.