Peabody Fund Commission

This is the Peabody Fund Commission that was established in 1867 to monitor the education fund established to help the post-Civil War American South. The commission consisted of, standing from left to right: Admiral David Farragut, Hamilton Fish, Ulysses S. Grant, William Aiken, Episcopal Bishop Charles Petit McIlvaine of Ohio, and Samuel Wetmore. Seated from left to right are George Peabody, J. P. Chase, and Robert Winthrop. Peabody donated $3.5 million for the establishment of the education fund.

1867 circa 5 years
Original Format:
Photographic Print
download hi-res watermarked image
Related Categories:

All Licensed images are available for download as jpeg files at 300 dpi of original size.

If your project requires an image at higher resolution, please contact us (be sure to include item number). Custom requests may require an additional charge.