Impeachment Committee

In this composite group portrait are the seven members of the House "Board of Managers" chosen to prosecute Andrew Johnson in his impeachment trial before the Senate. In the front row, from left, are two radicals, Benjamin F. Butler of Massachusetts and Thaddeus Stevens of Pennsylvania, and two moderates, Thomas Williams of Pennsylvania and John A. Bingham of Ohio, who served as chairman. Behind are James F. Wilson of Iowa, head of the House Judiciary Committee; George S. Boutwell of Massachusetts, who introduced the first resolution of impeachment; and Illinois Republican John A. Logan. Although Mathew Brady was unable to get them together at his gallery, he had them photographed separately or in small groups and ordered this costly composite.

Original Format:
Photographic Print
Mathew Brady
download hi-res watermarked image
Related Categories:

All Licensed images are available for download as jpeg files at 300 dpi of original size.

If your project requires an image at higher resolution, please contact us (be sure to include item number). Custom requests may require an additional charge.